Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Adding lists

Omikichan   October 21st, 2010 3:19p.m.

Hello,

I'm relatively new to skritter and am finding it very helpful but i don't really know how to use the site very well.

I would like to have lists i can study but when i try to add a list - it seems as if i have to add the words manually using pinyin. Since i don't know most of the vocab i am choosing to learn / would like to refresh my memory, then i don't have long lists planted in my head.

Isn't there a way to click on vocab and add them that way?

nick   October 22nd, 2010 9:12a.m.

If I understand your question correctly: you can currently browse any other lists, click words to select them, and hit "Add to Queue". Lots of topical word lists out there to choose from.

If you're talking about looking up words by definition and adding them to your studies that way, head on over to MDBG and do some searches. You can press the "S" button on any search result row to add the word to your Skritter queue. Just be careful not to add uselessly rare stuff.

amateur   November 5th, 2010 10:35a.m.

I am also new and have a similar question. How do I make a custom list without manually inserting each word? E.g., I am using words from the textbooks for the most part (let's go with Integrated Chinese 1 textbook for my example), and I want to make a list that is everything in lesson 3 (not just dialogue 1 or dialogue 2), plus a few extra words my teacher taught us.