Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Studying both Chinese and Japanese?

jcdoss   June 18th, 2010 5:40p.m.

I'm curious to know if I'm the only one using Skritter to embiggen my skills in both Chinese and Japanese? Chime in if you do too, and please share your study habits, successes, and failures.

jww1066   June 18th, 2010 6:47p.m.

I'd like to study Japanese eventually. I'm curious, how has this been working out for you? What level were you at in each language when you started?

I'm studying both simplified and traditional Chinese and it's definitely very slow compared to studying only one, but there are lots of patterns that get repeated over and over.

James

Doug (松俊江)   June 18th, 2010 10:33p.m.

First, embiggen is an awesome word and I hope it catches on. Second, to not answer your question in another way, I've only tried out the functionality of the Japanese version but I found when I was in Japan last week that my Chinese knowledge was very helpful (I could read many a character on signs and get the general idea of a lot of things).

I'd be interested in seeing the study habits of others and how they keep the languages separate in their heads (when I try to dig up my limited French, I get one or two French words out and then seem to automatically switch to Chinese).

nick   June 18th, 2010 11:07p.m.

I don't know how many will respond, but I do know there are several people doing both on Skritter. Intense!

DependableSkeleton   June 19th, 2010 9:25a.m.